Gospel Obsession

I am obsessed with this.  I am obsessed with seeing it.  I am obsessed with living in it.  I am obsessed with seeing this work.  I have an obsession.

What is my obsession?  

The Gospel.

The fact that I do not have to work for my God’s love has revolutionized my life.  That I am loved and saved by my God not because He saw anything in me worth saving but because He is good.  God did not look at me and say, “I want Him on my team.”  Rather before time began God looked at me and said, “You are mine.  I want you so badly and I want to show you myself so badly that I am willing to sacrifice for you.”  This is the Gospel.

How glorious is this Gospel! (by the way an excellent article on the centrality of the Gospel by Tim Keller can be found here.  I cannot recommend this article highly enough.)

Are you obsessed with the Gospel?

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in The Gospel
5 comments on “Gospel Obsession
  1. Derek Hiebert says:

    Thanks for sharing your heart, Chris. Indeed, the gospel is so wonderful, strong and satisfying that we will never be able to mine the depths of its truth and power to save, and angels never get tired of looking into it (1 Pet). May we continue to know and believe the gospel every day that it would mean more to us than it ever has.

    • Chris Lash says:

      “May we continue to know and believe the gospel every day that it would mean more to us than it ever has.”

      Thank you Derek, that is my prayer this morning.

  2. tonebenedict says:

    The Link doesn’t work but I am with you, God’s decision to show favor to sinners motivates me to want to serve Him fervently, not trying to earn anything or prove anything but because I am a son and I love my Father. I know that I will bring Him the most Glory as I find my Joy in Him.

    • Chris Lash says:

      Thank you Tone for the heads up on the link. I fixed it and it is linked to Tim Keller’s article titled ‘The Centrality of the Gospel’.

      Thank you for reading and commenting. It is great to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

I am fighting to believe.
My fight is the fight to believe. I also fight to rest and have joy in my God.
