I Could Play the Background

My heart.

My heart naturally does not want to worship the Creator.  My heart naturally says:

“I can do this on my own.  I can go through life on my own! I dont need you God.”

Upon regeneration, God has given us a new heart but our flesh (human nature) still continually rebels against the Gospel.  Even though I know how good my God is, I still try to do things by my power.  And this is what worries me.

Currently, I am sitting in the coffee shop at Moody Bible Institute: in a nice comfy chair, my own cup of coffee (that I brought here because I am too cheap to buy coffe here), laptop, and a sermon to write.  My worry is that I would rely on myself to write this sermon.

It may not seem like to big deal to you reading this but when we take a second to think about it: how can I expect God to work through me if all I do is rely on ME?  Self reliance is sin because it denies our need for the Gospel.  If I succeed by my own power, my trust will not be in Him.

There is a song that I absolutely love. I love this song because it helps to drive me to my knees and “approach the throne of grace” (Heb 4:16).  It reminds me that my role is to play the background for my creator and He will take the lead.

Even if you dont like Hip Hop check it out and listen closely; the lyrics to this video are powerful.

 

So just let me shadow you, just let me trace your lines, matter of fact, just take my pen, here, you create my rhymes. ‘Cause if I do this by myself, I’m scared that I’ll succeed, and no longer trust in You, ’cause I only trust in me

Let this be our prayer:

Father, I confess that I default to relying on myself.  I confess that I could do this on my own but Father, I don’t want to.  Forgive me of my selfish sin of depending on myself.  Let me depend on you and give you all glory.  Let me take the background Father so that you may become greater. I would rather have You and nothing rather than everything without You. Reorient my heart to trust in you versus trusting in me.

In what areas of your life do you rely on yourself to get through? Isn’t it about time to run to Christ and boldly approach His throne of grace? Trust Him.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
5 comments on “I Could Play the Background
  1. Betsy Cook says:

    You have great timing for me seeing this.Because this past weekend I went on a Christian retreat and had to give a talk and the talk was “Going forth in Christ.” I talked about how we can’t do anything without the help of God. We can try but we will eventually fall. It just really helps me to read this,its a reminder that I couldn’t reach lives without Gods help and I can’t shine my light in this world with out His help.
    Thank You!

  2. marty says:

    its so true man, sometimes i know i become impatient when i don’t see God moving and then I take it into my own hands but in the end I always have to come back to Him because I just make things worse.
    Jesus is so merciful to fix our mistakes and put us back on course when we come with open repentant teachable hearts.

    plus sweet video 🙂

    • Chris Lash says:

      Amen bro.
      I try to rely on myself way to much when I should be assuming my role as the “background”.
      Oh how that is my prayer so much! Praise God for faithfully calling me to repentance. If he granted me success it may be His passive wrath on me (now there is a thought that will drive me to my knees!).

      P.s. agree bro. This vid is so good.

  3. This is so true! Too often I do not surrender my heart thinking I can get through on my own power. Yet I should instead be trusting completely in where God will lead me, because only He is good. Such a great reminder to reorient my heart and let God lead.

    Thank you for this!

  4. Kelly H says:

    Thank you! Sometimes it seems as though I need to be forced to rely on God in order to remember this truth. So, thank God for the hard times! They refocus me and I pray will someday point others to His providence.

Leave a Reply

I am fighting to believe.
My fight is the fight to believe. I also fight to rest and have joy in my God.
